Widgetbox code contains a trojan & popup according to Windows Live OneCare
I've had some Widgetbox code on my blog for many months without an issue. Today I noticed that when I visited my blog, I was given a message that I'd been hit with Trojan:JS/Agent.FA. I kept removing the trojan, but it came back every time I reloaded the page. My blog was also trying to load a popup of some sort, which was blocked. After systematically removing and replacing every bit of javascript on my blog, I found that the culprit for the trojan and popup was the Widgetbox code. Now that I've removed that code, my blog is fine. I don't know how long this has been going on, as I've neglected my blog all summer. Here is the code I removed:
<noscript>Get great free widgets at Widgetbox!</noscript>
I'm sorry I don't recall at all which widget the code was for because I installed it so long ago, and it was in the footer of my blog so I rarely saw it.
<noscript>Get great free widgets at Widgetbox!</noscript>
I'm sorry I don't recall at all which widget the code was for because I installed it so long ago, and it was in the footer of my blog so I rarely saw it.
1
person has this problem
I have this problem, too!
Tell me when someone solves it.
The more people who report this problem, the more it gets noticed.
The more people who report this problem, the more it gets noticed.
The company thinks this is not a problem.
-
Inappropriate?I obviously attempted to post the entire code snippet, and it didn't work. If there's someway I can post it, or someone I can send it to (if you need to see it), please let me know.
Btw, I had originally just wanted to report the issue to tech support, but I got a 404 error when I submitted the form. I don't need a resolution... to me, the problem was fixed by removing the code. However, if this truly was something malicious and not just OneCare crying wolf, then obviously someone at Widgetbox should know about it. -
Inappropriate?This is NOT a trojan. A noscript tag is used to specify what HTML should be present if Javascript is disabled, blocked, etc.
As you can see from your code, the link present is a link back to Widgetbox.com. I'd suggest you check your virus protection settings and/or contact your supplier, as noscript tags are incredibly common on the internet and are a very common method for SEO.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HTML_ele...
Hope this helps.
I’m confident.
The company says
this solves the problem
Loading Profile...



